A journey through neonatal care

The Smallest Things

Alexa was born at 25 + 2, weighing 588g on February 19th 2014 delivered by emergency C-section due to severe early onset preeclampsia.

I read those phrases so many times; in Alexa’s notes and on whiteboards and I repeated it so often when we were in hospital. It was what defined her and defined me. In writing it now I realise that it no longer matters. No-one asks me that anymore and I rarely think about it. And what a relief that is.

alexa_Feb

Before she was born

I was diagnosed with early onset preeclampsia when I was almost 24 weeks pregnant. Like many other premature baby stories, it was a routine GP appointment that ended at hospital.  My normally unflappable GP looked concerned when she took a urine sample and my blood pressure. Then she called the hospital to say I was on my way and told me to…

View original post 2,459 more words

Leave a Reply

